Our Faculty and Staff

The faculty and staff of the School of Public and International Affairs are comprised of the members from our three programs as well as SPIA administrative faculty and staff.

 

 

SPIA Administration

 
Anne KhademianDirectorEmail: akhademi@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8119
 
Krystal WrightAdministrative Assistant to the DirectorEmail: krystal@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-2291
 
Leslie DayBusiness ManagerEmail: lday@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5176
 
Matthew JezierskiWeb AdministratorEmail: mattwj6@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-1490
 
Han LeFiscal TechnicianEmail: han79@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8123

SPIA Administrative Faculty

 
Jaimy AlexMgr. for Outreach, Enrollment and CommunicationsEmail: ajaimy@vt.eduPhone: (703) 838-8330
 
Leisha LaRiviereManager of Professional Development ProgrammingEmail: llariviere@vt.eduPhone: (804) 662-7288
 
Andrea MorrisDirector, Washington SemesterDirector, Living LabEmail: andrea.morris@vt.eduPhone: (571) 858-3308
 
Georgeta PourchotDirector, Two Capitals, Two MastersAssoc. Dir., Recruitment & Alumni InitiativesEmail: georgeta@vt.eduPhone: (703) 721-0595

SPIA Research Centers

 
Max StephensonDirector, IPGEmail: mstephen@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-6775
 
Regina NaffAdmin. Assistant, Institute for Policy and GovernanceEmail: regina50@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-6775
 
Susan SterettSPIA Director of ResearchDirector, MIEmail: ssterett@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8110
 
Jessica HanffMI+SPIA Research ManagerEmail: jesshanff@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8105

SPIA Affiliated Faculty

 
Bill AndersonProfessor of PracticeEmail: grant46@vt.eduPhone: (540) 885-2484
 
Paul CarverSPIA Professor of PracticeEmail: paulgc@vt.eduPhone: no phone
 
Randy MurchSPIA Professor of PracticeEmail: rmurch@vt.eduPhone: (703) 518-2719
 
Minnis RidenourSPIA Affiliated FacultySenior Fellow for Resource DevelopmentEmail: ridem@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-0823

<--End Row-->

 
Steven Rathgeb SmithSPIA Distinguished Visiting ProfessorEmail: smithsr83@gmail.comPhone: no phone
 
Robert A. StalzerSPIA Professor of PracticeEmail: Rob.Stalzer@fairfaxcounty.govPhone: (703) 507-5330

 

CPAP Faculty and Staff

 

Karen Hult
ProfessorProgram ChairEmail: khult@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5351

 

Patrick Roberts
Associate ProfessorProgram Director, NCREmail: robertsp@vt.eduPhone: (202) 599-0562

 

Laura French
Office ManagerEmail: lhf@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5133

 

Myriam Lechuga
CPAP/GIA/UAP Graduate Student CoordinatorEmail: mlechuga@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8111

 

Justin Lewis Abold
Professor of PracticeEmail: jabold@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8111

 

Ron Boster
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: RonaldSBoster@gmail.comPhone: (602) 770-1551

 

Brian J. Cook
ProfessorEmail: brml27@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-3438

 

Suzette Denslow
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: sd@virginia.govPhone: (804) 225-4803

 

Matt Dull
Associate ProfessorEmail: mdull@vt.eduPhone: (202) 821-3807

 

Adam Eckerd
Assistant ProfessorEmail: aeckerd @vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8116

 

Jason Fichtner
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: jjfichtner@gmail.comPhone: (703) 993-4930

 

Jonah Fogel
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: jfogel@vt.eduPhone: (804) 527-4246

 

Susan Gates
Visiting ProfessorEmail: gates.sw@gmail.comPhone: (703) 706-8123

 

John Harrald
Visiting ProfessorEmail: jharrald@gwu.eduPhone: (202) 994-7153

 

Tom Hickok
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: tomtennis3@yahoo.comPhone: 703-601-4729, x 153

 

Theresa Jefferson
Visiting Associate ProfessorEmail: tjeff@vt.eduPhone: (571) 858-3081

 

Laura Jensen
Associate ProfessorEmail: jensen7@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7302

 

Sara Jordan
Assistant ProfessorEmail: srjordan@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7306

 

Leisha LaRiviere
Manager of Professional Development ProgrammingEmail: llariviere@vt.eduPhone: (804) 662-7288

 

Bruce Lawlor
Professor of PracticeEmail: bruce.lawlor @vt.eduPhone: (703) 518-8310

 

Bill Leighty
Professor of PracticeEmail: bill@billleighty.orgPhone: (540) 231-5153

 

Robin Lemaire
Assistant ProfessorEmail: rlemaire@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-0664

 

William Murray
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: no emailPhone: no phone #

 

Joe Rees
Associate ProfessorCoordinator, CPAP RichmondEmail: reesj@vt.eduPhone: (540) 250-5632

 

Susan Sterett
ProfessorEmail: ssterett@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8110

 

Bob Stripling
Professor of PracticeEmail: chars08@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5133

 

John Dickey
Professor EmeritusEmail: jdickey@vt.eduPhone: (540) 552-6878

 

Larkin Dudley
Professor EmeritusEmail: dudleyl@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5133

 

Jim Wolf
Professor EmeritusEmail: jfwolf@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8116

 

GIA Faculty and Staff

 

Tim Luke
University Distinguished Professor and ChairEmail: twluke@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-6633

 

Gerard Toal
ProfessorProgram Director, NCREmail: toalg@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8113

 

Myriam Lechuga
CPAP/GIA/UAP Graduate Student CoordinatorEmail: mlechuga@vt.eduPhone: 703-706-8111

 

Karen Nicholson
Administrative AssistantEmail: karenn@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-6572

 

Ariel Ahram
Associate ProfessorEmail: ahram@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8115

 

Giselle Datz
Associate ProfessorEmail: gdatz@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8112

 

Ilja Luciak
Affiliated ProfessorEmail: iluciak@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5246

 

Christian Matheis
Visiting Assistant ProfessorEmail: matheisc@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7507

 

Patricia Nickel
Assistant ProfessorEmail: nickel@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-3549

 

Joel Peters
ProfessorEmail: peters25@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8133

 

Georgeta Pourchot
Director, Two Capitals, Two MastersAssoc. Dir., Recruitment & Alumni InitiativesEmail: georgeta@vt.eduPhone: (703) 721-0595

 

Joyce Rothschild
ProfessorEmail: joycer@vt.eduPhone: (540) 951-0214

 

Ioannis Stivachtis
Affiliated Associate ProfessorEmail: ystivach@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5816

 

Edward Weisband
Affiliated Professor, Edward S. Diggs Endowed Chair ProfessorshipEmail: weisband@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5298

 

Wilma Dunaway
Professor EmeritaEmail: wdunaway @vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5177

 

UAP Faculty and Staff

 

Diane Zahm
Associate ProfessorCo-Chair, BlacksburgEmail: dzahm@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7503

 

Kris Wernstedt
Associate ProfessorCo-Chair, NCREmail: krisw@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8132

 

Yang Zhang
Associate Professor Coordiantor, MURPEmail: Email: yz@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-1128

 

Leigh Bower
Administrative AssistantEmail: leighb14@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5485

 

Myriam Lechuga
CPAP/GIA/UAP Graduate Student CoordinatorEmail: mlechuga@vt.edu Phone: (703) 706-8111

 

David Bieri
Associate ProfessorEmail: bieri@vt.eduPhone: TBA

 

John Browder
ProfessorEmail: browder@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-6217

 

Ralph Buehler
Associate ProfessorEmail: ralphbu@vt.edu Phone: (703) 706-8104

 

Anamaria Bukvic
Visiting Assistant ProfessorEmail: ana.bukvic@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7032

 

Maggie Cowell
Assistant ProfessorEmail: mmcowell@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8101

 

Ralph Hall
Assistant ProfessorEmail: rphall@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7332

 

Steve Hankey
Assistant ProfessorEmail: hankey@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7508

 

Sonia Hirt
ProfessorCAUS Assoc. Dean for Academic AffairsEmail: shirt@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7509

 

Terry Holzheimer
Professor of PracticeIn Memoriam

 

Paul Knox
University Distinguished ProfessorSr. Fellow for International Advancementknox@vt.edu540-231-1695

 

Shelley Mastran
Professor of PracticeEmail: shellmast@verizon.netPhone: (703) 706-8108

 

Kathryn McCarty
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: ksmccarty@verizon.net Phone: (703) 706-8111

 

Shalini Misra
Assistant ProfessorEmail: shalini@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8122

 

Elizabeth Morton
Associate Professor of PracticeEmail: morton05@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8129

 

John Provo
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: jprovo@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-4004

 

Tom Sanchez
ProfessorEmail: sanchezt@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5425

 

Todd Schenk
Assistant ProfessorEmail: tschenk@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-1803

 

Joe Schilling
Professor of PracticeEmail: jms33@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8102

 

Thomas Skuzinski
Assistant ProfessorEmail: skuzinsk@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-1801

 

Max Stephenson
ProfessorEmail: mstephen@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-6775

 

Jim Bohland
Professor EmeritusEmail: jayjon@vt.eduPhone: no phone

 

Ted Koebel
Professor EmeritusEmail: tkoebel@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-0412

 

John Randolph
Professor EmeritusEmail: energy@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7714