Our Faculty and Staff

The faculty and staff of the School of Public and International Affairs are comprised of the members from our three programs as well as SPIA administrative faculty and staff.

 

 

SPIA Administrative Faculty and Staff

 
Anne KhademianDirectorEmail: akhademi@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8119
 
Krystal WrightAdministrative Assistant to the DirectorEmail: krystal@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-2291
 
Leslie DayFiscal TechnicianEmail: lday@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5176
 
Beth OffenbackerAssociate Director for Social Media and EngagementEmail: boffen@vt.eduPhone: (703) 623-4811
 
Matthew JezierskiStudent Web CoordinatorEmail: mattwj6@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-1490
 
Joe SchillingSPIA Director of ResearchMI DirectorEmail: jms33@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8102
 
Jessica HanffMI+SPIA Research ManagerEmail: jesshanff@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8105
 
Bill AndersonProfessor of PracticeEmail: grant46@vt.eduPhone: (540) 885-2484
 
Paul CarverSPIA Professor of PracticeEmail: paulgc@vt.eduPhone: no phone
 
Elisabeth ChavesSPIA Visiting Assistant ProfessorEmail: echaves@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-1801
 
Andrea MorrisAdjunct Faculty of SPIAEmail: aymorris@arlingtonva.usPhone: (703) 418-1189
 
Randy MurchSPIA Professor of PracticeEmail: rmurch@vt.eduPhone: (703) 518-2719
 
Minnis RidenourSPIA Affiliated FacultySenior Fellow for Resource DevelopmentEmail: ridem@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-0823

 

CPAP Faculty and Staff

 

Brian J. Cook
ProfessorProgram ChairEmail: brml27@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-3438

 

Patrick Roberts
Associate ProfessorProgram Director, NCREmail: robertsp@vt.eduPhone: (202) 599-0562

 

Laura French
Office ManagerEmail: lhf@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5133

 

Irene Jung
Program CoordinatorEmail: ijung@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8123

 

Suzette Denslow
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: sd@virginia.govPhone: (804) 225-4803

 

Matt Dull
Associate ProfessorEmail: mdull@vt.eduPhone: (202) 821-3807

 

Adam Eckerd
Assistant ProfessorEmail: aeckerd @vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8116

 

Jason Fichtner
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: jjfichtner@gmail.comPhone: (703) 993-4930

 

Jonah Fogel
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: jfogel@vt.eduPhone: (804) 527-4246

 

Susan Gates
Visiting ProfessorEmail: gates.sw@gmail.comPhone: (703) 706-8123

 

John Harrald
Visiting ProfessorEmail: jharrald@gwu.eduPhone: (202) 994-7153

 

Tom Hickok
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: tomtennis3@yahoo.comPhone: 703-601-4729, x 153

 

Theresa Jefferson
Visiting Associate ProfessorEmail: tjeff@vt.eduPhone: (571) 858-3081

 

Karen Hult
ProfessorEmail: khult@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5351

 

Laura Jensen
Associate ProfessorEmail: jensen7@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7302

 

Michael Jones
Assistant ProfessorEmail: jonemic1@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7302

 

Bruce Lawlor
Professor of PracticeEmail: bruce.lawlor @vt.eduPhone: (703) 518-8310

 

Bill Leighty
Professor of PracticeEmail: bill@billleighty.orgPhone: (540) 231-5153

 

Robin Lemaire
Assistant ProfessorEmail: rlemaire @vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-0664

 

William Murray
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: no emailPhone: no phone #

 

Joe Rees
Associate ProfessorCoordinator, CPAP RichmondEmail: reesj@vt.eduPhone: (540) 250-5632

 

Susan Sterett
Visiting ProfessorEmail: Susan Sterett @du.edu>Phone: no phone #

 

Bob Stripling
Professor of PracticeEmail: chars08@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5133

 

John Dickey
Professor EmeritusEmail: jdickey@vt.eduPhone: (540) 552-6878

 

Larkin Dudley
Professor EmeritusEmail: dudleyl@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5197

 

Jim Wolf
Professor EmeritusEmail: jfwolf@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8116

 

GIA Faculty and Staff

 

Tim Luke
University Distinguished Professor and ChairEmail: twluke@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-6633

 

Gerard Toal
ProfessorProgram Director, NCREmail: toalg @vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8113

 

Myriam Lechuga
GIA/UAP Administrative AssistantEmail: mlechunga@vt.eduPhone: 703-706-8111

 

Karen Nicholson
Administrative AssistantEmail: karenn@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-6572

 

Ariel Ahram
Assistant ProfessorEmail: ahram@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8115

 

Matthew Dallek
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: matt_dallek@yahoo.comPhone: no phone

 

Giselle Datz
Associate ProfessorEmail: gdatz@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8112

 

Wilma Dunaway
ProfessorEmail: wdunaway @vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5177

 

Michael Lind
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: no emailPhone: (703) 706-8111

 

Ilja Luciak
Affiliated ProfessorEmail: iluciak@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5246

 

Patricia Nickel
Assistant ProfessorEmail: nickel@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-3549

 

David Orden
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: orden@vt.eduPhone: (571) 858-3060

 

Joel Peters
ProfessorEmail: peters25@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8133

 

Georgeta Pourchot
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: georgeta@vt.eduPhone: (703) 721-0595

 

Joyce Rothschild
ProfessorEmail: joycer@vt.eduPhone: (540) 951-0214

 

Michael Signer
Visiting ProfessorEmail: michaelsigner@gmail.comPhone: (434) 284-2588

 

Ioannis Stivachtis
Affiliated Associate ProfessorEmail: ystivach@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5816

 

Edward Weisband
Affiliated ProfessorEdward S. Diggs Endowed Chair ProfessorshipEmail: weisband@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5298

 

UAP Faculty and Staff

 

Diane Zahm
Associate ProfessorCo-Chair, BlacksburgEmail: dzahm@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7503

 

Kris Wernstedt
Associate ProfessorCo-Chair, NCREmail: krisw@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8132

 

Yang Zhang
Assistant Professor Coordiantor, MURPEmail: Email: yz@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-1128

 

Sandy Graham
Administrative AssistantEmail: sgraham@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5485

 

Adey Kefenie
Office Services SpecialistEmail: akefenie@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-9932

 

Myriam Lechuga
GIA/UAP Administrative AssistantEmail: mlechuga@vt.edu Phone: (703) 706-8111

 

John Browder
ProfessorEmail: browder@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-6217

 

Ralph Buehler
Associate ProfessorEmail: ralphbu@vt.edu Phone: (703) 706-8104

 

Anamaria Bukvic
Visiting Assistant ProfessorEmail: ana.bukvic@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7032

 

Maggie Cowell
Assistant ProfessorEmail: mmcowell@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8101

 

Ralph Hall
Assistant ProfessorEmail: rphall@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7332

 

Sonia Hirt
Associate ProfessorCAUS Assoc. Dean for Academic AffairsEmail: shirt@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7509

 

Terry Holzheimer
Professor of PracticeIn Memoriam

 

Derek Hyra
Associate ProfessorEmail: derek3@vt.eduPhone: (703) 838-8320

 

Paul Knox
University Distinguished ProfessorSr. Fellow for International Advancementknox@vt.edu540-231-1695

 

Ted Koebel
ProfessorEmail: tkoebel@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-0412

 

Shelley Mastran
Professor of PracticeEmail: shellmast@verizon.netPhone: (703) 706-8108

 

Kathryn McCarty
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: ksmccarty@verizon.net Phone: (703) 706-8111

 

Shalini Misra
Assistant ProfessorEmail: shalini@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8122

 

Elizabeth Morton
Professor of PracticeEmail: morton05@vt.eduPhone: (703) 706-8129

 

John Provo
Adjunct ProfessorEmail: jprovo@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-4004

 

Jesse Richardson
Associate ProfessorEmail: jessej@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7508

 

Tom Sanchez
ProfessorEmail: sanchezt@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-5425

 

Max Stephenson
ProfessorEmail: mstephen@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7340

 

Jocelyn Widmer
Assistant ProfessorEmail: widmerj @vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-8248

 

Jim Bohland
Professor EmeritusEmail: jayjon@vt.eduPhone: no phone

 

John Randolph
Professor EmeritusEmail: energy@vt.eduPhone: (540) 231-7714